Beginners Guide to Yoga

Yoga is  is the Hindu practice of physical, mental, and spiritual discipline, originating in ancient India.  Yoga has many benefits including flexibility, strength, muscle tone, stamina, stress reduction, better breathing, stimulates your immune system, improves blood circulation and aids digestion.  Click read more for how to get started!

 How do I start?

I started by doing sun salutations.  This can be seen in the pic below.  I started by doing this about 2-3 times a day on and off for a few months.  Of course you can do it for longer or shorter just get comfortable with.  I also recommend youtubing beginner yoga videos.

How do I start learning different poses?

The first thing I recommend is checking out yogajournal poses page which includes all different poses you can learn.  Then go on youtube and type that pose in and videos will come up on how to do them.  Try and start with basic poses and work your way up.

How about when you you get bored?

Try doing TaraStileYoga, 21 Day Challenge on yogajournal, and just youtubing yoga sequences.

Might add more to this post as I learn more.  Keep checking back!

2 thoughts on “Beginners Guide to Yoga

  1. Love yoga!! I always do some yoga poses after weight training. I used to get headaches after going to the gym but now that I have incorporated some yoga.. that’s all in the past! 🙂

Leave a Reply

