Half Marathon Training: 11 Weeks to Go!

This week of running was awesome!  I ran outside a bunch and learned alot about my mental strength.   I completed every run and increased the distance on three of them.  After every run I feel like I’m getting stronger and will be able to complete this half marathon.  I’m starting to think about getting gear to help with my running.  I know that I’m gonna get a Nike Sports Band at the end of March because I want to be able to track pace and distance during my runs.  I’m also thinking about getting a hydration belt and how I plan on fueling my long run(1 hr+).  If any of you have any tips or tricks please leave them in the comments, I can use all the help I can get.  Here is was my schedule for this week:

Monday: 5×400 5k pace

Tuesday: Cross Training(Just Dance for 30 min)

Wednesday: 2 mi instead did 3 mi

Thursday: 2.5 mi instead did 3 mi

Friday: Yoga(Bend and Stretch)

Saturday: 4 mi instead 4.65 mi

Next week’s schedule is pretty chill.  Only thing really different is I have a tempo run on Monday which I’m gonna do a 8:34 pace for 30 min.  I also decided that for my 6 mi run in 2 week I will be doing a 10k.  So excited!

Monday: 30 min tempo

Tuesday: Cross Training

Wednesday: 3 mi

Thursday: 3 mi

Friday: Yoga

Saturday: 5 or 5.5 mi

 

4 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training: 11 Weeks to Go!

  1. start trying to run with gu or see how you react to it, its great hydration and that boost of sugar you may want to do around mile 6-7, some people get stomach issues. or try the jelly belly sports beans sold at most running stores!

    • Thank you so much for your tips. I looked up the GUs and next time I go to the running store I’m gonna pick some up and see how I like them. I’m really excited to try the peanut butter flavor.

  2. I would skip the Nike sport band- it’s unreliable for distance/pace…. Try a garmin or a Nike sport watch ….my daughter has the sport band. it’s not accurate… Hope this helps

    • Ohh, it was so cheap though, I should’ve known. I looked up the garmins and sports watch and I think I gonna wait till the after the half marathon to get one because I’m not yep ready to part with that money. Thanks for the heads up though. Which garmin do you have and how do you like it?

Leave a Reply

