The Art of Getting Back on Track

When I was seriously losing weight last year, I was very strict.  I would count every calorie that went into my mouth and would always say no to food that wasn’t in my meal plan.  As time went on, I got less and less strict to the point where I’m right back to where I started(not weight wise but diet wise).  So I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to learn to say no again and I’ve created a list of things to do(because as many of you have come to realize, I love lists).

  1. Plan out meals and snacks the night before.  Whether it be with calorie counting or not I need to be planning.  Because as the quote goes, “He who fails to plan, plans to fail.”  I think at the end of everyday I’ll post my intake on twitter to make myself more accountable.
  2. No more useless snacking.  Every time I go into the kitchen I come out with an unnecessary snack when I wasn’t even hungry to begin with.  I need to learn to say no to food.  I know it will take a while to get back to the mindset I was in last year but I will get there.
  3. Try new recipes.  I tend to get to the point where I eat the same things everyday and have no variety which is a basis of healthy eating.  I have some new recipes I want to try and I will definitely be sharing them with you guys.
  4. Find new motivation.  My motivation last year was the fact that none of my clothing fit.  But now that they all do, that can no longer be my motivation.  I think my new motivation is going to be running faster and longer than I ever have before.
  5. Find a workout program you like/can deal with.  Personally, I’m loving running right now.  But if you like weight lifting, yoga, basketball, etc, do it!
  6. Start now!  Stop saying tomorrow or next week or you can’t start a weight loss/fitness program on a Friday.  Even if you overate this morning, it doesn’t means that the rest of the day has to be bad.  Again, someday is not a day of the week.
  7. Fruits and veggies are your friends.  They fill you up for less calories and have vitamins and minerals that you need to live a happy, healthy life.
  8. Decide that you want to do better.  This has be an active decision that you make every minute of every day.  You must choose to workout even when you’re tired and you must choose to put that candy down because you have a snack planned in one hour.  Decide and hold to it.
  9. Stay positive.  Even when you make mistakes you have to forgive yourself and move on.  Every second is a new opportunity to do better.  Keep going.
  10. And to sum up the big point, getting back on track is promising to Do Better.  As they say, it’s now or never.

PS. Sorry for the switch in point of view, I started this post talking about me and then start talking about the general person.  Welp, you get use to it.

Do you have any tips for getting back on track?

What have you done when you’ve fallen off the wagon?

Leave it in the comments!

2 thoughts on “The Art of Getting Back on Track

  1. Suggest joining fitocracy.com and reading up on strength training for women and a proper diet. Counting calories and restricting your intake based on some arbitrary list is setting yourself up for repeated failure — it’s why so many people fall off the wagon, plus calories are less of an issue than *what* you eat. I’m personally rocking the low carb, high fat diet. Lost 10 pounds in 6 weeks and am almost the same size I was in high school. This obviously doesn’t work for everyone but it sure is more simple and tastier than fretting about calories constantly.

    • I’ve used fitocracy before and I like it. But I also want to highlight that as you said, this will not work for everyone. You have to find what works for you and stick with it for it to work well. This goes with anything you try.

Leave a Reply

